Short Story #1

As I came out of the community temple and made my way to the exit,he came out of nowhere and blocked my path.

“Aren’t you ashamed of yourself?”he asked,with some spite.

“Wha-“said I.

“-how can you even show your face here?”he raged on.

“What should I be ashamed of?”I asked,with some annoyance.

“What should you be ashamed of? Everything!”

“You mocked me when I was crazy,before they sent me to the asylum.Now that I’m out and completely sane and healthy and doing pretty well,I should be ashamed?”

“What about that TV interview of yours?Now that you are a great actor and all, you told the whole world about your time spent in the asylum.You bring disgrace to our community.”

“What I revealed in that interview was nothing but the truth…the truth of how you and the others mocked me and made fun of me when I was mentally ill.Where was your sense of community then?Why weren’t you more understanding then?”

“You are nothing but a disgrace to the community.What about your parents? Don’t you think they were hurt when you revealed all in your interview? Don’t you think the rest of the community will look down upon them for raising a brat like you…you think you’re a big man because you’re an actor now?”

“No,I don’t think I’m a big man.Also,my parents have always been,and will always be,supportive of me.I’m certainly not as big a man as you are in our community.You are jealous and you just want to pull me down.”

“I’m JEALOUS? YOU SON OF A-”

“-yeah,you’re jealous.What have you ever achieved in your life? I went through hell in that asylum and I came out and made something of myself.You never had to go through anything close to this in your life.Still,you have achieved nothing so far in your life.You’re just a self-appointed leader of this bloody community of hypocrites.You can’t stand to see the success of others,the underdogs of our community.”

“You bastard,you have crossed the line.You are no longer welcome at this temple.”

“Calling me names isn’t gonna change things.You were mean and inconsiderate.You still are.And now you’re also an asshole who pulls people down…without doing anything worthwhile yourself.Goodbye.”

“Begone.”

“Oh,one more thing.”

“What?”

“FUCK YOU.”

I walked away,leaving him seething in rage.

Leave a comment