Blog Post #3: Everybody Lies

“Everybody Lies.”

– Dr. Gregory House

“LOL , I don’t .”

– Mahatma Gandhi

Hope that cracked you up a little bit. Everybody does lie, don’t they? For some reason or the other, we find that we have to tell lies.We tell lies to protect ourselves, to protect others or sometimes just for the heck of it(yes,I do that). Which brings me to honesty.

Is honesty just about telling the truth? You could be selective about your truths and still be considered ‘honest’.Or you could just keep mum and be called honest.  I think honesty is not just about telling the truth but also about being transparent and open.Like my friend, STR. He is truly an honest person. The kind of honest and open introspection he does, I don’t think I could do it myself,at least not so openly.

I have met very few people in my life who are honest to the extent described above. Many are just superficially honest and a little hypocritical.Ok , more than just a little hypocritical. Is it an Indian thing to be hypocritical? To say one thing and to do completely another? We are supposed to revere the great Mahatma in our country, yet we are dishonest and hypocritical even in our reverence.

Everybody does indeed lie.

Leave a comment